Post by jensenbreck on Oct 23, 2017 1:13:32 GMT -5
I've always had a couple questions about some of the rules of chess (tournament play and online/how they might differ) so I was hoping someone here would be able to answer some:
If you have two knights and a king against a lone king and it is not possible to force a win within 50 moves, can you claim a draw by insufficient material (what if mate actually can be forced, would it automatically be declared a draw online)? If you run out of time with the lone king do you lose on time or draw?
Similarly if you have a lone knight versus a lone bishop, it is still possible to deliver mate (although your opponent would have to make serious mistakes). Is this automatically a draw? What if mate can be forced?
I didn't find the right solution from the Internet.
References:www.chess.com/forum/view/general/questions-about-chess-rulesdigital b2b marketing