I seem to have trouble understanding the creek situation. Could i, for exemple, simply take another player's pawn with my knight on my first turn? i am talking here about crossing the creek with my knight as to take his pawn that is located in front of his rook? then he could take my pawn and then cross the creek with his own rook for exemple? even though this would not really be favorable, it seems to allow very early game moves against an opponent. I am simply trying to better understand the role the creek plays aside from blocking pawns.
(edit) I also have a second question. can you go through a bridged moat to capture the piece of a fallen player. If a player dies, his pieces stay and must be captured to be able to go on their squares. Since one of the condition to go through a bridged moat is that you do no take any pieces, can you still go through the bridged moat to capture a dead piece from a player that lost?
Hello Pirola and sorry for very late reply. To take a pawn with rook on first move, your destination would be a square that COULD be reached by passing over the Moat, therefore that move is illegal. Don't think of the move as CHOOSING to go over the Creek, instead of the Moat. If the destination could be reached by passing over the Moat, than you can't do it unless the Moat is bridged. Regarding creeks, they are only observed by Pawns, in that they can not capture and adjacent team's piece, until it has advanced to the first square beyond the end of the creek. The creeks are there just so the game can get started without people taking adjacent teams pieces. And yes, you can take "dead" pieces across a bridged Moat.a good question as I should clarify the rule sheet to say " you can't capture (live) pieces across a bridged Moat. Thanks for your questions. Clif